Channeling Martha Stewart and other crazy musings from a busy woman

Just another WordPress.com weblog about life

Blast from the Past!

on November 13, 2011

I attended my — wait for it — my 30th class reunion last night. There, I said it. Now all of my 16 readers know how young I am. I don’t know why some people get uptight about attending reunions. I suppose the argument can be made that one should never return to high school because supposedly you’ve “moved on.” Or why should I bother to see my classmates when I see my high school group regularly? You know what? I still hang with my childhood peeps but I don’t mind catching up with classmates every few years.

The past two reunions have been relaxing and incredibly hilarious. I think when you get to my age, you’ve embraced who you are and don’t really give a *#**! about what people might say or think about you (and if you haven’t, then you’re wasting precious time worrying about stupid issues). So we gained some weight or lost some hair. For the most part, I think my classmates look younger than our true age. Several of my classmates are grandparents many times over. Some of us are just getting started. It’s just nice to share pictures via our iPhones and swap stories about our lives after graduation.

I think what amazes me about my classmates is our ability to enjoy each other’s company. We may not have been true friends in high school but on reunion night, it’s so much fun to talk story, crack up as we look at our old prom photos and play crazy trivia games like how much did Spam cost in 1981 or “Name that 80’s song.” My personal favorite is laughing at our awful 80’s fashion faux pas and the big hair. Truly awful, I tell ya.

In true class of 1981 fashion, we had to be asked several times by hotel management to vacate the premises. Not because we were drunk (okay, some classmates who shall remain unnamed were a tad tipsy) but because we were having too much fun to say goodbye for another few years. The stragglers moved down to the main floor and about 20 minutes later, we made it into our cars and drove home.

As with past reunions, a few classmates continued the party elsewhere and I’m sure there will be some funny stories to share next time around. Speaking of which, our next reunion will not be celebrating an anniversary but rather our big “5-0.” Gotta admit I cringed writing that statement but I’m looking forward to a fun girls only weekend in Vegas in two years! Congratulations to the reunion committee for a fantastic evening!



Leave a comment